A man eats alone

Man eating alone

I go to the market
Buy my groceries
Bring them home
Cook a meal for myself
But there is no one
To share it with
So I serve myself a plate
And I start to eat
My tears mingling
With my rice and curry

I make my bed
I fluff four pillows
Place them neatly
Two for her, two for me
One for her to cuddle
But there is no one
To share my bed with

I water my plants
I sweep the yard
I tidy the house
I put on some music
But there is no one
To share the music with
The music has died

I wake up
Shower, dress
Pack the lunch
I cooked last night
I lock the door
Set out to work
There is no one
To bid me goodbye

I work long
I work hard
I work in a cold sweatshop
Job satisfaction none
Appreciation zero
Only the odd complaint
I work for the family
Way past midnight
I return to a house
With no living soul
No one to ask
How was your day?

I take a shower
Serve myself a plate
I eat my rice
Mixed with tears

~ by Steppenwolf on September 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
